NaNoWriMo

I’m standing at the end of a very tall diving board. Dare I jump? Well, I said I would, so I will. I’m going to write a 50K word novel for NaNoWriMo. I am confident in my writing ability. It’s the rest of the stuff I’m not sure of.

First of all, I signed in to NaNoWriMo successfully–I think. NOW what do I do? Where do I put what I’ll be writing? In my own documents? Somewhere on their website? Where are the places I click on their site to get my stuff stored, like daily word count, etc.

Second, when I looked at the NaNo site, I see badges and requests for info about me. Do I keep track of these badges? Do they? Where do I put my writer info?

Third, there have been many posts about this and that. Hints. Storing stuff. My big deal is how to navigate all this? How do I decide if I NEED to do this, if it’s a suggestion, or will I be disqualified if I don’t do this?

Fourth, I think I’m registered (if that’s the word) for NaNo through Houston Writers Guild. Do I duplicate everything?

Fifth, I’m a member of RoTaNoWriMo. Will I be triplicating all my stuff?

The writing part of NaNoWriMo is nothing. Trying to figure out what’s what, where to put it, what documentation is needed for 3 entities listed above–I am totally at sea, so much at sea that I don’t even know what I don’t know. Maybe the mini workshop tomorrow will answer some questions.

Game on!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Sandra,

    It’s very simple. Just write a novel as you’ve been writing. The only difference is you get to report the word count that you accomplish as the month goes by. And, you have the option of entering a contest. That’s my understanding.
    I signed up and my goal is to finish my novel đŸ™‚
    Good luck!

Leave a comment